Scrapt IV Scrampt

2nd draft, wait for the third draft to be a whole different thing. Writing is weird.

Int. Car. Evening.
Swan (formally artist, Female, early twenties, voluptuous figure, tempting attire.) is in the back seat being driven. She is holding something of past importance, a necklace perhaps, she is feeling with her thumb the texture, almost as an automatic motion. She is on the phone, her attention is on the outside scenery as it flies past.
Swan;

Yeah, call me Harlow, I prefer that.

(Pause)

I’ll be in town for a few days. It’d be nice to see you.

(Pause)

Yeah we can see Whitney, just don’t tell anyone. I’m supposed to be clean.

(Pause)
The can pulls up to a driveway.
Swan

I gotta go, yeah love you too. Bitch.
Swan laughs handing over a $20
Swan

Keep the change.
She pulls out a duffle bag out and makes another call as she walks to the door.
Swan

Cat? Yeah I’m here. Wanna let me in?
Int. Living room. Evening.
Swan is sitting on a chair, posed as if she’s waiting for a train. Smoking a cigarette and facing towards some unseen or non existent person. She has papers in her hand, a notebook or a printed script. She’s crossed out swan and written Harlow.
Phish (male, late teens, effeminate, dangerously small) is curled into the couch, checking his phone often, very quiet.
Kat (female, mid twenties, colourful atire, bubbly, smiling often, likes to point when she talks as if she’s always saying, “that’s my shit” in her head) is laying across a single arm chair, somewhere between her mouth and her index finger is a cigarette or a lighter at all times.
Ollie (male, macho sort of, tall or seems that way, band tee, jeans) is sitting close to Kat without smothering her, probably has a game controller in his hand, like something is consistently on pause.
Swan breaths, the centre of attention. She appears concerned, the kind of look you might give if you’re trying to figure out if the pain I your head is a thought or a headache. Somewhere between these two things, she speaks.
Swan

“Wait, say something. Say anything. As long as you stay another moment. It would be worth it if only…”

She loses her words, or maybe another headache, like a memory stands in the way.

“Fine, if you won’t say it, it will. We fucked up, I fucked up. Everything was like that, but WE made it that way. Please remember, how I apologised and suffered. I would have done anything to wash out this bitter taste, this..feeling.

But this feeling is inside, not unlike how you were. But now, unlike you, this feeling never pulls out or releases. It lingers and grows to no end. A fire, that turns to rage that becomes hard. Unlike the last time, a stone, unlike you, passionate, aggressively so.”

She once more takes a step away from these words. As if the intensity is a game.

“It seems, just like you, a wall, I’m talking to and worse, a blank page and worse, nothing is written and worse, the book is unopened and the front cover untouched. Afraid to ever start, even with a date or title or to even have a pen handy. To say…anything.”
Kat, Phish and Ollie applaud, Ollie whistled.
Swan

Well, was it good?
Kat

“I almost believed what you said. It’s amazing what you can do, especially knowing you and how actually past all that.”
Swan

I might actually have something to say, nothing so eloquent if I’m honest.
Kat

Dude, you’re sorted. I mean you got out and you did something with your life, which is more than I can say for some.
Ollie lights a cigarette at that precise moment, there really couldn’t be any other time for it.
Swan

You’re right, but up there, New York , it doesn’t feel like home, shouldn’t it?
Phish looks down at his phone as if it were a reaction. It was.
Kat

Give it time. We might join you.
Swan smiles.
Swan

Why didn’t you stay Phish? I thought it’s what you wanted? Performing.
Phish

Yeah, I’ve done a few shows here.
Swan

Did it work out with him at least?
Phish’s face says what he’s unable to say.
Swan

Come on man, I thought you’d at least get the girl, even if she does have a penis.
Phish pours himself a glass of wine.
Phish

I love the bouquet
Ollie

You don’t know shit about wine, do you.
Phish drinks slow and deep.
Phish

Tastes good though
Kat

No it doesn’t
Ollie

f’real though, I wonder what it would be like to be one of those people. I mean shit. I’d love to understand the difference but it all tastes the same for me.
Kat

I think we should go to a wine tasting, there’s a festival in town Sunday night
Swan

Sounds like fun, Phish?
Phish nods, texting on his phone.
Swan

There’ll be gay guys, non digital ones.
Ollie

As a pose to homo-erotic cyborgs.
Kat

that’s Actully a great idea. You have been a little digital since Leela kicked you out. Even if he did have a small dick.
Phish gets up.
Phish

I’d like to dance
Ollie dances with him, neither of them are quite in each others rhythm, the two find themselves laughing as they figure it out.

Swan and Kat watch clapping.
Swans phone rings and she abruptly rushes upstairs.
Phish

who was that?
Kat

if you’re asking me it’s either her ex or its that’s girl who was hanging around before she left.
Ollie

oh yeah, what was her name? Clymidia?
Phish shrieks with laughter as Ollie lowers him into what would have undoubtedly been a kiss if he wasn’t straight.
Kat

her name was Lydia and she was a hot mess.
Ollie pulls Phish up
Ollie

she’s been busy as hell up there, maybe she needs a good bit of pussy, I mean as a man I can relate.
Kat slaps Ollie’s leg
Kat

you’re a dick.
Ext. front of the house. Night.

Swan comes out, buttoning up her jacket. Lydia (late twenties, tomboy) immediately hugs her.
Lydia

Missed ya Harley.
Swan

You can call me swan.
Lydia moves in for a kiss. Swan lightly pushes her away.
Swan

Did you call Whitney?
Lydia

Yeah it’s all sorted. Look, can we go in? I’ve got nearly ten grams in my pocket and I don’t exactly want to be walking around with this shit.
Swan

Wait. I need you to leave.
Lydia smiles
Lydia

What?
Swan

I changed my mind, I need you to go.
At first a deer in the headlights, Swan enters the house with a sudden sense of terror.
Lydia first tries to open the door, then picks up her phone.
Int. Living room. Night.
Swans phone is buzzing. She checks the caller ID and ignores it, taking a seat on the chair, Insta-lighting a cigarette.
Phish is laying across the sofa over Ollie and Kat’s legs (they’re sitting). Ollie is playing video games while Kat texts aggressively (cigarette).
Kat

Did someone come by the house?
Swan

No, I just needed a second.
Kat

What is this bitch talking about, who called?
Swan

Why what’s happening.
Kat puts out her cigarette.
Kat

whitney’s being a little bitch.
Kat lights another cigarette and enters the next room, making a call on her phone. Swan rolls her eyes

Hard.
Phish sprawls out.
Phish

It’s so hard having a good time…
Ollie

alright Frankie keep the melodrama to a minimum
Phish

what’s a gay boy to do in such homo-phobic times
Swan

I think we’re the only straight friends you have.
Phish

I want a white night on a unicorn. That’s my gay right, to have at least that.
Ext. street. Night.
Lydia is sitting on the sidewalk on her phone.
Lydia

…actually going to miss you. Goodbye.
She hangs up and makes another call.
Lydia

Hey

(Pause)

I know it’s late.

(Pause)

I saw Whitney today.
Lydia laughs.
Int. Living room. Night.
Ollie

I gotta take a slash.
Ollie enters the bathroom. Phish, sits up, Swan sits next to him.
Swan

Phish.
Phish

What?
Swan

Why didn’t you stay?
Phish takes a prescription sedative, washing it down with wine.
Swan

Seriously, it’s amazing up there, I’ve been learning so much.
Phish’s phone makes a message tone. He starts feverishly texting.
Swan

Thing is, I know you can do it all better than…Seriously who is texting you right now?!
Phish

I’m on this dating site. Someone I’m talking to…”
Swan

are you going to do this forever? Go from one bad relationship to another?you’re wasting your talent.
Phish

you’d love me either way
Swan

You’re right.
Swan wraps her arm around him. Phish can barely keep his eyes open.
Swan

I wish you stayed. We should be doing this together.
Phish

I fucked up. I know that. I’ll be in this town forever.
Swan

You don’t have to be
Phish

That’s me, but you. You have a chance. go after your dream swan, even if I can’t.
Silence. Phish lets out a quiet snore. Swan opens her mouth to say nothing.
Kat comes out of the other room.
Kat

What’s wrong? Is he asleep?
Swan

Uh..Phish
Kat bangs on the bathroom door, “Ollie, get out, i told you I was going to need the bathroom after this phone call.

(To swan)I bet he’s just watching videos I his phone. Can you believe Whitney is asking me to shift pills? Why is it every time she texts me it’s because she wants something, she’s going to have no friends if she keeps behaving like this…
Int. Car. morning.
Swan is being driven and is on her phone.
Phone

You have one voice mail
Lydia

I know you can see my calls, I know you’re down there, pretending like you never hit me up and that I meant nothing to you. I should’ve broken down that door, given you something to remember me by, but I’m better than that, better than you. I’m a nice girl, I do nice things for people, that’s me and you fuck people around, that’s you.

(Pause)

I’m actually going to miss you. Goodbye.”
Swan takes out her script, takes out her script, crosses out Harlow and writes Swan.

Leave a Reply

